Currently, each morning to prepare myself and my heart for prayer, I read a few chapters from the book of psalms and then I read a page in the book ‘The Valley of Vision’, the book of collected puritan prayers. This morning I read the page titled, ‘A Present Salvation’. The prayer that really hit me was when the writer prays:

      “May I always be amongst those who not only hear but know thee,who walk with and rejoice in thee, who take thee at thy word and find life there.”

      I think the reason this was so special and unsettling to me is because there ARE those who only here the word of God and don’t leave with a greater knowledge of Him because He doesn’t reveal Himself to them. Hearing The Word is one thing, knowing God is another. We read in Psalm 40:6:

     “Sacrifice and meal offering you have not desired; My ears you have opened.” (NASB)

    So God IS responsible for opening our ears to know Him and His word. It’s not something that comes naturally and by ourselves. He gets to decide whether or not we know Him. We also read multiple passages in Psalm 25 saying:

“He leads the humble in what is right and teaches the humble his way.” (v.9) (ESV)

“Who is the man who fears the LORD? Him will he instruct in the way that he should choose.”(v.12) (ESV)

“The friendship of the LORD is for those who fear him, and he makes known to them his covenant.” (v.14) (ESV)

     That sounds pretty similar to the type of language in the prayer the writer prayed in Valley of Vision.

       So Lord, let me be among those who not just hear your word but know you…..

Citations

Bennett, Arthur. The Valley of Vision pg.12. Carlisle: The Banner of Truth Trust, n.d. Print.

 

 

Leave a Reply

